Volunteer leaders in organized labor honored by United Way and Memphis Labor Council tonight

LaborAndUWlogo(Updated May 9 with photo from the event.) Local labor leaders will be honored by the Memphis Labor Council and United Way of the Mid-South at 6:00 p.m. Thursday evening during an awards dinner at IBEW Local 474, located at 1870 Madison Avenue in Memphis, Tennessee.

(Photo added to story Friday, May 9)

(Photo added to story Friday, May 9)

United Way staff members Casel Jones (AFL-CIO Community Service Liaison), Nakisha Coffey (Community Impact), Regina Walker (Community Engagement and Alignment), Faye Carter (Fundraising) and Bryce Haugsdahl (President) will salute members of organized labor who are making a difference in our community.

In addition, United Way board members and volunteers David Dortch (USW Local 9-0771), Irvin Calliste (President, Memphis AFL-CIO Labor Council) and Paul Shaffer (Business Agent IBEW Local) will speak at the event.

Organized labor and United Way have a long-standing partnership that works to improve lives across the Mid-South.

The following labor members will receive awards (alpha by last name, list current as of May 4, 2014):

  • Jeffery Bell, President, IAM Local 61
  • Wayne Bennington, President, Sheetmetal Local 4
  • Christine Booker, Agent, OPEIU Local 2001
  • Kevin Bradshaw, President, BCTGM Local 149
  • Allen Byassee, Bus. Agent, IASTE Local 69
  • Irvin Calliste, President, AFL-CIO Labor Council
  • Janice Chalmers, President, AFSCME 1733
  • Marie Crowe, Finance Secretary, UAW Local 2406
  • Linwood Dillard, President, USW Local 7655
  • Lee Early, President, USW Local 9-0771
  • Ben Gibson, President, IAM Local 3
  • Larry Hardaway, President, USW Local 9-0631
  • Larry Jackson, President, NALC Local 27
  • Maria Johnson, President, APWU Local 96
  • John Macon, President, Mail Handlers Local 329
  • Latita Malone, President, BCT Local 149
  • Thomas Malone, President, Memphis Fire Assoc.
  • Larry Miller, Bus Agent, ATU Local 713
  • Margaret Morgan, President, IASTE-TWU Local 825
  • Wayne Risher, President, Newspaper Guild 91
  • Robert Santucci, President, CWA Local 3806
  • Mike Scoggins, Bus. Agent, Ironworkers Local 167
  • Paul Shaffer, Bus. Agent, IBEW Local 474
  • Leon Sheppard, President, UFCW Local 1529
  • Arthur Smith, Finance Secretary, Longshoremen Local 1671
  • Willie Smith, President, RWDSU Local 910
  • Bobby Sproles, Bus. Agent, Steamfitters Local 614
  • Pamela Stitts, President, UNITE-HERE Local 2262
  • William Thompson, Bus. Agent, IBEW Local 1288
  • Barry Tipton, Finance Secretary, UAW Local 3036
  • Keith Williams, President, Memphis Education Assoc.
  • Michael Williams, President, Memphis Police Assoc.

(Note: Photo provided by Regina Walker)


About Dave Skorupa

Dave Skorupa is Director of Communications at United Way of the Mid-South, Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Labor Participation, Volunteers. Bookmark the permalink.